4th Annual Dom Colbert Prize in Travel Medicine for Undergraduate medical students (2019)

  • Opening date: 22nd September 2018
  • Title: 'Unwanted souvenirs: antimicrobial resistance and international travel'.
  • Closing date: 15th February 2019 (5.00pm)
  • Announcement of winning entry: March 2019
  • Presentation of the winning entry by the author at the TMSI AGM: 6th April 2019.

The prize:

An engraved gold medal awarded annually by the Travel Medicine Society of Ireland (TMSI) for the best essay by an undergraduate medical student in Ireland on a topical issue relevant to Travel Medicine.

Entries are screened for similarity with existing published material using Turnitin™ software and are then judged in a blinded fashion by TMSI Executive Committee members in late February.

Dr. Dom Colbert was a co-founder of the TMSI and is known in the Travel Medicine community internationally. He has been an educator to generations of undergraduates and postgraduates and has spent years working as a medical humanitarian overeas. He is the author of MCQs in Travel Medicine and two autobiographical works An Irish Doctor's Odyssey: The Saints are In Heaven (2018) and No Tears Left: Biafra to Bosnia (2018).

Why enter?

The winner will receive an engraved gold medal and be invited to present the winning entry at the annual April seminar of the TMSI in Dublin. The winning essay will also be published in the June edition of Taisteal, the newsletter of the TMSI, which is circulated to all members nationally.

How to enter:

By e-mail, in MS Word format, to Mrs. Anne Redmond This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. (Secretary, Travel Medicine Society of Ireland)

Format required for entries:

  • Maximum word count: 2,000 words
  • Minimum reference count: 25
  • Title page only to include name, year of study, medical school and e-mail address
  • Consecutive pages to be numbered
  • Times New Roman size 12 font throughout
  • 1.5 spacing
  • Vancouver referencing style

Previous winners:

2018: Bryan Chang Wei Lim Leaving Light Footprints – How Can We Promote Responsible International Travel?
2017: Ian Long Traumatic Travels – How Can We Reduce The Burden of Accidental Death in Travellers Overseas?
2016: Evelyn Fennelly Responding to Migrant and Refugee Healthcare Needs in Ireland
Copyright © 2019 TMSI. All Rights Reserved.